Battle in the Boro 2019: Talent shines in massive field

The 15th annual Battle in the Boro, presented by National Exposure Basketball, saw 570 teams gather at the Kentucky Expo Center in Louisville, Kentucky, from July 10-13, 2019.  Approximately 500 college coaches coming from NCAA Divisions one to three, NAIA and junior college ranks attended at least one day of the event along with numerous media/scouting services. 


Top Division winners in each age group (players graduating in the year below or thereafter; all divisions named after Triple Crown winners):


2020 Justify:  Mac Irvin Fire 17U Godfather (Chicago, Illinois) 49-44 Ohio Elite Black (Centerville, Ohio)

2021 American Pharoah:   Team Huddle – Cousy (Berlin, Ohio) 60-53 Team Nard Celtics Gold (Atlanta, Georgia)

2022 Affirmed:   Empire State Basketball Club’22 (Yonkers, New York) 48-43 Michigan Premier Blue (Grass Lake, Michigan)

2023 Seattle Slew:   Nebraska Lasers National Gold (Lincoln, Nebraska) 44-38 OK Swish Blue (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)

Players below are listed alphabetically with height, position, graduation year and club team with home town in parenthesis.  The criteria for selection was performance at the event in conjunction with success of the team.  Congratulations to all selected!

Special thanks to Tara Arnold, Harry Elifson, Jack Harlow, Tim Lownsdale, Darby Maggard, Cristy McKinney and Kyle Turnham who served with me on the All-Tournament Selections Committee.  Evaluating approximately 208 teams was not easy!


2019 Battle in the Boro

2020 - Justify

All-Tournament Team

Korie Allensworth, 5-10, point guard, 2020, OK Swarm 17U Blue Star Musselman (Duncan, Oklahoma)  

Lexus Bargesser, 5-8, guard, 2022, Michigan Premier 2020/2021 Blue (Grass Lake, Michigan)

Madison Bartley, 6-3, power forward, 2020, Ohio Elite Black (Kettering, Ohio)

Bailey Butler, 5-8, point guard, 2021, Wisconsin Academy (South Wayne, Wisconsin)

Abrie Cabana, 5-10, point guard, 2021, Michigan Premier 2020/2021 Blue (Grass Lake, Michigan)

Anabel Ellison, 5-9, point guard, 2020, Tampa Thunder Team Dupree (Clearwater, Florida)

Nyla Hampton, 5-6, point guard, 2020, Ohio Elite Black (Huber Heights, Ohio)

Aanaya Harris, 6-0, small forward, 2021, Team Factory (Omaha, Nebraska)

Emily Jones, 6-0, shooting guard, 2020, TN Flight Navy (Jackson, Tennessee)

Cotie McMahon, 5-11, small forward, 2022, Sports City U (Dayton, Ohio)

Loyal McQueen, 5-8, point guard, 2020, FBC Bouncenation Jay (Darlington, South Carolina)

Danyel Middleton, 5-9, small fo